The Love Me Nots

LoveMe-1Love Me Nots 4The Love Me Nots are an American garage rock band from Phoenix, AZ, and I love them lots! They play reverb-drenched, retro 60’s rock with Farfisa organ, fuzzed-out guitars and trashy backbeats! They’re from Phoenix, AZ, but their sound is straight out of Detroit, MI, similar to The Detroit Cobras but more punk, less R&B-ish. The Love Me Nots are fronted by Farfisa-playing minx, Nicole Laurenne. She’s a wolf in heat disguised as a cuddly kitten wearing a mini-dress and go-go boots! But, alas, she’s married. Nicole formed the band in 2006 with her husband, Michael Johnny Walker (guitar). But, Nicole has a secret, too! By night, she’s rock star Nicole Laurenne, but, by day, she’s Judge Laurin-Walker of the Gilbert Municipal Court in Maricopa County, Arizona!

LMN-InBWThe Love Me Nots have released 4 albums, to date, all of which are not that stylistically different from each other. But, with this genre, it’s not about being revolutionary, it’s about staying true to the sound, and The Love Me Nots stay true to that sound in a big groovy way! Their debut, “In Black & White” (2006), opens with the rocking “Move In Tight,” charging forth with Farfisa riffs and guitar fuzz, never once letting up until the last note of the soulful ballad “Broken” fades. “Mine,” “Break Your Heart,” and “I Do” keep the beat going, while “Cry” sounds like a theme to a James Bond movie that was never made. Watch the video for “Move In Tight” here:


LMN-DetroitThe aptly-titled “Detroit,” released in 2008, was grittier, punkier, and my second favorite of their albums. “You’re Really Something,” “Give ‘Em What They Want,” and “I’m the One” are badass, but “Love Letter” and “Black & Blue” are even badass-er! In “Black & Blue,” Nicole promises: “Give me that black & blue heart / I’ll turn it cherry red.” And, the final track, “Shaken,” is one of the best songs The Animals never wrote. The Animals, by the way, were an actual 60’s garage band, led by Eric Burdon, who had a #1 hit with “The House of the Rising Sun.” Watch the video for The Love Me Nots‘ “You’re Really Something” here:


LMN-Upside“Upsidedown Insideout,” from 2009, is not as gritty as the previous album, but that doesn’t stop it from being my favorite of this band’s four releases, with excellent tracks like “You Don’t know a Thing About Me,” “You’re Bringing Me Down,” “He’s What I Want,” and a whole lot of other cool songs with I, you, he, got and have in their titles. And, “Do What You Do” is one of this band’s best songs ever. I love the video, too. Oh, Nicole! Those eyes! That voice! Those moves! Those legs!! I could probably say that about any of their videos, really, but I like this one the most. Watch the video for “Do What You Do” here:


LMN-The Demon“The Demon and the Devotee” (2011) is their most recent release. I stumbled, first, upon this album, by accident, and I was hooked after the furious first track, “The End of the Line.” But, in truth, I was sold even before I listened to a single note. Yes, I must admit that the disc’s cover photo of a girl (Nicole?) in fishnets with a guitar caught my attention. Her eyes spoke to me. They whispered, “Listen to me.” I could not resist. “I’m Gonna Be Your Girl” is another great track, as are “Demons,” “I’m Not Okay,” and “Cheap Knockoff.” But, this album is actually my least favorite of their four releases. Is it bad? No. Their previous albums are just better. But, this is the one that drew me to this cool band!

Love Me Nots 3Love-3
Website: The Love Me Nots Official Website

2 responses to “The Love Me Nots

  1. Pingback: Go Motobunny, Go! | My Heart Explodes·

  2. Pingback: The Love Me Nots « Girls, Guns & Zombies!·

Leave a Reply

