Halestorm – ReAniMate 2.0 (10/15/13)

Halestorm5My favorite female-fronted hard rock band Halestorm‘s latest EP, ReAniMate 2.0: The CoVeRs eP, released today, is, obviously, the sequel to their 2011 EP ReAniMate: The CoVeRs eP, on which the band covered songs by some their biggest influences. My favorite track, from the first EP, was “Hunger Strike” (Temple of the Dog) which is my favorite song from the grunge era, barring anything by Nirvana. But, “All I Wanna Do Is Make Love To You” (Heart) and “Out Ta Get Me” (Guns N’ Roses) are pretty awesome covers, too.Halestorm2-01 The first EP was filled out with “Bad Romance” (Lady Gaga), “Slave To the Grind” (Skid Row) and “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” (The Beatles).

On ReAniMate 2.0, Halestorm offers up 6 more covers. My favorite, which I declared before I even listened to the track, is “Hell Is For Children” (Pat Benatar). Ever since I fell under Halestorm‘s spell in 2009, I always would imagine Lzzy singing that song, my favorite from Pat Benatar. And, it sounds exactly like I imagined it would. “Gold Dust Woman” (Fleetwood Mac) is another great cover. Courtney Love did an amazing grunge take on this classic with Hole back in 1996, but Halestorm‘s version is closer to Fleetwood Mac‘s original arrangement, and Lzzy‘s vocals are stunning. Halestorm also covers “Shoot To Thrill” (AC/DC) and “Dissident Aggressor” (Judas Priest), proving, once again, why they are the best female-fronted hard rock band out there. “1996” (Marilyn Manson) is kind of an odd choice, but, it works, well. However, I can’t say the same for “Get Lucky” (Daft Punk). Now, it’s not Halestorm‘s fault that I like this cover the least. It’s Daft Punk‘s fault. The original sucks, but, Halestorm‘s harder rocking version is, if nothing else, listenable.

Watch Halestorm perform “Hell Is For Children” live here:

And, watch them perform “Gold Dust Woman” live and acoustic here:

One response to “Halestorm – ReAniMate 2.0 (10/15/13)

  1. Pingback: The Perfect HALESTORM | My Heart Explodes·

Leave a Reply

